Colon Blaster 3000

After setting those little goals last week to get myself back on track, things have been going better. I’ve done 4 successful days of macro tracking (I half-assed it on the weekend so those days don’t count), and I’ve managed to meet my water drinking goal every day since then. It’s made a huge difference in how I feel, and my skin stopped freaking out too. Exercise is also back on track thanks to my 30×30 schedule, though I’ve found that my post-gym DOMS has been lingering way longer than usual. Not sure what’s up with that. Probably old age. Thanks, Obama!

Yesterday I had a lot of carb room left over and a free Starbucks reward on my card, so I got myself a triple grande nonfat caramel macchiato to perk me up in the afternoon. Turns out 3 shots of espresso is a pretty terrible idea. Caffeine stimulates not only my nervous system, but my digestive system as well. If ever you find yourself feeling a little… backed up, let me recommend you the triple grande caramel macchiato, AKA the Colon Blaster 3000 (just ask the barista, it’s on the secret menu!). You will lose at least half a pound instantly and violently. It’s quite something!

Anyway. Aside from the TMI, things are improving.

Book 7

cinder

Cinder by Marissa Meyer (YA Fiction)

I read this on Holly’s recommendation, who told me the author was a Sailor Moon fanfic writer back in the day. (For those who don’t know, I’ve been in love with Sailor Moon since I was 12.) Marissa Meyer is NOT to be confused with Stephanie Meyer, the author of Twilight – believe me, I double-checked. 😉

Cinder is a futuristic version of Cinderella, set in post-World War 4 China and featuring a cyborg for a protagonist. At first I was skeptical, not being a huge sci-fi fan, but within a few pages I found myself hooked. The story was imaginative and entertaining. There were a few confusing parts and some clunky exposition, and sometimes the character reactions seemed a little overwrought or over the top, but for a story that started out as a NaNoWriMo novel, the issues are understandable. The main thing is that it was a fun, addictive book, and overall I really enjoyed it. I’m looking forward to starting the next in the series!

I’ve been reading a lot of young adult fiction lately (reviews coming later this week), which kinda feels like cheating since the books are such quick, easy reads. But it’s nice to be back in the land of fiction!