Super-Snack

Today I’m not going to talk about how I’ve fallen off the gym bandwagon and can’t seem to claw my way back on. Nor will I be discussing my current pattern of doing 3 or 4 days of solid IIFYM followed by a few days of “fuck it, pass the donuts and beer”.

Before this glorious long weekend, let’s talk about my new favourite thing: Super-Greek Yogurt. It’s legen… wait for it… dairy. Pun intended!

For me, the hardest macro goal to meet each day is protein, so my favourite trick is to pump up an already high-protein food (Greek yogurt) with even more protein-y goodness (powder).

I buy the unflavoured, fat-free Kirkland brand yogurt from Costco (18 g protein per 3/4 cup serving) and add half a scoop of flavoured, stevia-sweetened protein powder (~12 g protein). My favourite brand is Kaizen Natural Whey because it tastes good, blends decently, comes from New Zealand, and the container is biodegradable. I alternate between the vanilla bean and dark chocolate flavours, the latter of which I’m LOVING right now after months of avoiding it for some insane reason. I’m pretty sensitive to stevia and generally don’t enjoy the taste, but the half scoop gives the yogurt a mildly sweet flavour that isn’t overpowering.

After mixing the two, the yogurt has a fluffier texture that’s really nice. Then I add fruit! I normally go for berries, but this morning I had half a Granny Smith apple along with some blackberries. Finally I add some toppings to give it a bit of fat and balance the macros out a bit. I like using a tablespoon of chopped walnuts or cacao nibs (I finally found a use for them!) for a nice crunch. Trail mix works too! Granola would also be delicious (albeit carb-ier). Sometimes when I’m feeling fancy, I add a dash of cinnamon. And that’s it!

Super-Greek Yogurt makes an awesome breakfast or a bigger snack before a workout. And as I mentioned before, the chocolate flavour really kicks it up a notch because you feel like you’re eating mousse or pudding.

Now if only I could find a health food that reminds me of donuts…

Leave a comment